The Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) was founded on September 18, 1974 when representatives from fourteen Louisiana universities and colleges met in Baton Rouge for the sole purpose of forming an organization to promote basketball on all levels in the State of Louisiana. It was the first state-level organization of its kind in the nation.

A constitution was approved and adopted at a second meeting in Alexandria on November 14, 1974. The initial officers of the LABC were: President - Don Landry of Nicholls St.; Vice-President - Benny Hollis of UL-Monroe; Secretary - Tynes Hildebrand of Northwestern St.; Treasurer - Jerry Sanders of Nicholls St..

The charter members of the LABC Board of Directors were: Don Landry of Nicholls St.; Benny Hollis of UL-Monroe; Tynes Hildebrand of Northwestern St.; Jerry Sanders of Nicholls St.; Billy Allgood of Louisiana Christian; Dale Brown of LSU; John Brown of Dillard; Lenny Fant of UL-Monroe; Ken Fortenberry of Southeastern La.; E.W. Foy of McNeese St.; Ron Greene of New Orleans; Jim Hatfield of UL-Lafayette; Emmett Hendricks of Louisiana Tech; Fred Hobdy of Grambling St.; Joe Hornback of Southern-New Orleans; Harold Hunter of Xavier; Larry Little of Centenary; Charles Moir of Tulane; and Carl Stewart of Southern.

All of Louisiana’s four-year and two-year universities and colleges are members of the LABC, and the head men’s basketball coach at each school serves on the board of directors.

One of the first projects of the LABC was a coaching clinic that was held during the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Top 24 Tournament in Alexandria.

The first annual LABC awards banquet was held at the Bellemont Hotel in Baton Rouge in July, 1975. The highlight of the banquet was the presentation of the first annual Mr. Louisiana Basketball award to former LSU star Joe Dean of Converse, Inc. The Mr. Louisiana Basketball award is given annually to someone who has made a significant long-term contribution to the game of basketball at any level in the State of Louisiana.

In the fall of 1975, the LABC published the first edition of "Louisiana Basketball," a fine magazine prepared by Benny Hollis.

In 1976, the first annual LABC North-South All-Star Game for Louisiana collegiate seniors was held at Centenary in Shreveport. The game was an immediate success, with the North squad winning a thrilling 110-109 contest. All-American Robert Parish of Centenary was a popular choice as the game's most valuable player. The All-Star Game was held each year thereafter at different college sites until 1993 when it was discontinued.

The Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame was created in 1975 and the first five individuals were inducted during the LABC awards banquet in 1976. The charter members were Bob Hopkins of Grambling St.; Jackie Moreland of Louisiana Tech; Bob Pettit of LSU; Willis Reed of Grambling St.; and Coach Cliff Wells of Tulane. The Hall of Fame display was originally located in the Pete Maravich Assembly Center at LSU in Baton Rouge. In 2008, the Hall of Fame display was moved to Louisiana's historic Old State Capitol in Baton Rouge.

The LABC has held an annual awards banquet every year since 1975. Each year during the banquet, the LABC inducts its new Hall of Fame members, announces the recipient of the Mr. Louisiana Basketball award, and presents awards to Louisiana’s major college, small college, junior college and high school players and coaches of the year in each classification, as well as the top pro player from the state.

In 1998, the LABC created the Don Landry Award, which is named in honor of the founder and first President of the LABC. This award is given periodically to someone who has rendered distinguished service and made a significant contribution to the LABC.

Benny Hollis of UL-Monroe became the LABC's second president in 1976-77. He was followed in that position by Tynes Hildebrand of Northwestern St. in 1977-78; Lenny Fant of UL-Monroe in 1978-79; Fred Hobdy of Grambling St. in 1979-80; Bobby Paschal of UL-Lafayette in 1980-81; Glenn Duhon of McNeese St. in 1981-82; Andy Russo of Louisiana Tech in 1982-83; Tommy Canterbury of Centenary in 1983-84; Mike Vining of UL-Monroe in 1984-85; Gordon Stauffer of Nicholls St. in 1985-86; Dale Brown of LSU in 1986-87; Newton Chelette of Southeastern La. in 1987-88; Tommy Joe Eagles of Louisiana Tech in 1988-89; Steve Welch of McNeese St. in 1989-90; Ben Jobe of Southern in 1990-91; Dan Bell of Northwestern St. in 1991-92; Jerry Loyd of Louisiana Tech in 1992-93; Rickey Broussard of Nicholls St. in 1993-94; Gene Rushing of Louisiana Christian in 1994-95; John Lyles of Southeastern La. in 1995-96; Tommy Smith of Delgado in 1996-97; Jim Wooldridge of Louisiana Tech in 1997-98; Earl Hill of Southern-New Orleans in 1998-99; Jerry Hernandez of Loyola in 1999-2000; Tommy Green of Southern in 2000-01; Keith Richard of Louisiana Tech in 2001-02; Billy Kennedy of Southeastern La. in 2002-03; Mike McConathy of Northwestern St. in 2003-04; George "Tic" Price of McNeese St. in 2004-05; John Brady of LSU in 2005-06; David Francis of Southern-Shreveport in 2006-07; Larry Wright of Grambling St. in 2007-08; Dannton Jackson of Xavier in 2008-09; Chad McDowell of LSU-Shreveport in 2009-10; J.P. Piper of Nicholls St. in 2010-11; Mike Giorlando of Loyola in 2011-12; Dave Simmons of McNeese St. in 2012-13; Dale Valdery of Southern-New Orleans in 2013-14; Bob Marlin of UL-Lafayette in 2014-15; Mark Slessinger of New Orleans in 2015-16; Roman Banks of Southern in 2016-17; Larry Cordaro of LSU-Alexandria in 2017-18; Stacy Hollowell of Loyola in 2018-19; Kyle Blankenship of LSU-Shreveport in 2019-22; Donte' Jackson of Grambling St. in 2022-23; and Byron Starks of Baton Rouge in 2023-24.

History of the LABC
Louisiana Universities and Colleges

LABC Officers and Staff

Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame

LABC Annual Awards Banquet

LABC Annual Award Winners

LABC North-South All-Star Game

Louisiana College Basketball Records

Annual All-Louisiana College Teams

All-Louisiana College Team of the Century

Louisiana’s College National Championship Teams

Louisiana’s College National Post-Season Tournament Teams

College National Post-Season Tournament Games in Louisiana
Louisiana's College Conference Championship Teams
Louisiana Colleges in Final Regular Season National Polls
Louisiana's College National Award Winners
Louisiana’s College Annual National Statistical Champions
Louisiana's College All-Americans, All-Stars and All-District

Louisiana’s U.S. Olympic Team Members

Louisiana’s Naismith Hall of Fame Members

Louisiana Collegians in Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame

Louisiana Collegians in Pro Basketball

Louisiana’s Professional Teams
Louisiana High School Basketball Records
Louisiana High Schools in Final National Polls
Louisiana’s High School All-Americans and All-Stars

Louisiana's High School "Mr. Basketball" and Gatorade Award Winners